About Us

Kirinyaga County is one of the 47 counties in Kenya which borders three counties namely Nyeri, Murang’a and Embu. It covers an area of 1,478.1 square kilometres and lies between 1,158 metres and 5,380 metres above sea level in the South and at the Peak of Mt. Kenya respectively. It is endowed with a forest cover of 350.7 Km2 and is inhabited by a variety of wildlife including elephants, buffaloes, monkeys, bushbucks and colourful birds while the lower parts of the forest zone provide grazing land for livestock. The county has six major rivers which drain into the Tana River.

Kirinyaga county is an agrarian county that grows some of the best coffee in the world, tea and best aromatic rice in the East Africa region. Moreover, the county boasts of agricultural exports such as horticulture and macadamia.

Kirinyaga is literally translated as the dwelling place of God in Kikuyu language. Kirinyaga county is situated at the foot of Mt. Kenya where traditionally the kikuyu community offered their prayers to God. It is thus a symbolic county culturally, religiously and economically. With the sessional paper titled “The Mountain Cities Blueprint” being developed by Her Excellency Governor Waiguru, Kirinyaga is set to become the health, wellness, organic and resort hub of the world by 2032.